New Year Resolutions – Wardrobe Maths

I have joined 187 other bloggers and joined in with Did You Make That? sewlutions. The one I entered into the jar is that I am aiming to finish the year with 75% of my wardrobe being made by me. I realise that this is probably the biggest of the aims that I have for the year so I thought that I best find out my starting position.

IMG_0263[1]

I have done a little bit of wardrobe maths to find out what my current percent is. I am almost embarrassed to put these up, so deep breath and here goes:

 

Shop Brought

Made by Me

Skirts

13

7

Dresses

16

4

Trousers

8

 

Tops

51

4

Jumpers

11

2

Cardigans

11

2

Jacket/Coat

5

1

This means that I have a shocking 135 items of clothing in my wardrobe (and oh my word 55 of the them are tops!!), twenty of which have been made by me. This equates to 15% of my current wardrobe being made by me, so to get to 75% I need to increase this by 5% per month.

I hate to contemplate how many of those 135 items I actually wear so I think one of the starting points for this Make and Do aim is to have a proper sort out. If I decide to keep all of my current clothes this means I am faced with the task of making an additional 325 items of clothing…or put another way nearly one item per day. So not going to happen!

The other end of the spectrum is not making anything and therefore giving away ninety-five of my current shop brought clothes, also pretty unrealistic, who would manage with only 27 items of clothing in total. There mus be  a happy medium in there somewhere and by the end of the year hopefully I’ll have found it.

3 thoughts on “New Year Resolutions – Wardrobe Maths

  1. Pingback: Trouser Refashion | sewmuchchoice

Leave a Reply

