Butternick B4790 – My Alice Dress

For New Year’s Eve I went to a murder mystery party. The party theme was Alice in Wonderland and I was given the role of Alice. I immediately thought of a wearable muslin that I made of the Butternick B4790 way back in 2010. I made this muslin to check out the sizing for a dress I wanted to make for my cousin’s wedding and did all of the fabric but did not get around to doing the bias binding around the edges.

I added the bias binding to the dress on 30th December and this was the finished item:

IMG_0256[1]

 

This dress is super easy to make and it was referred to as the Walk-away dress because it was possible to make it after breakfast and walk away in it by lunch. All I had to do was add a blonde wig, white stockings and Mary-Jane shoes and I was ready to step out as Alice.

Leave a Reply

