Nautical Gift sent to “A Good Talking To…”

I joined in with the International Craft Swap hosted by House of Pinheiro and was lucking enough to be paired with Jacq of “A Good Talking To….” It has been very exciting exchanging emails with a fellow sewing blogger and reading her blog. Yesterday I posted what Jacq made for me, today I’m going to share what I made for her.

Jacq made me a bag and funnily enough I did exactly the same, I used the Amy Butler Sweet Harmony pattern that I have previously made but this time I decided to make the tote sized bag. I decided on a thing I had previously made because I really wanted to try my hand at some applique…something I have never done before.

Here is the bag all made up:

IMG_0371

I chose the blue striped material because it had a nautical feel and then made up a lighthouse that was hand appliqued on (I originally wanted to do an anchor but all those curves were giving me a challenge so I finally settled on the straight edges of the lighthouse). Here is a close up of the lighthouse:

IMG_0370

For the gifts I decided on some pretty buttons and ribbon and then wrapped them all up following the nautical theme:

IMG_0376

Leave a Reply

