Unveiling the Eco Dress – Butterick 5882

Now that I have finished the Eco dress and given it to Miss Cambridgeshire I wanted to share the finished item with you. Here it is styled without the underskirt:

IMG_0491

 

And here it is with the underskirt:

IMG_0494

 

I am a big fan of the look with the underskirt, such a classic shape. The bits that I am particularly happy with are the coffee filter flowers, which feel very pretty against the pink:

20130611-183233.jpg

 

and the lining, really happy with the way there are no exposed seams:

20130607-210139.jpg

 

The tricky bit with this dress was the straps that also go across the bust, I really felt they were not sitting very well and that they only really got sorted when I added in the coffee filter flowers. The other problem was that the fabric frayed a lot and because I unpicked the lining twice, this became a little problematic around on of the bust pieces. Overall I am very happy with this project, although I was nervous about handing it over.

The cost of this dress is a bargain:

Main fabric: Bed sheet bought from a charity shop = £1:50

Contrast fabric: Men’s shirt brought from a charity shop = £5

Underskirt: Refashioned from tutu and remaining fabric of bed sheet = £0

Sequins and seed beads: From stash = £0

Flowers: Made from coffee filters given to me = £0

Zip: From stash = £0

Pattern: Butterick 5882 = £3.75

Total cost = £10.25

 

7 thoughts on “Unveiling the Eco Dress – Butterick 5882

  1. This dress is just lovely! I’m so pleased to have gotten to follow along as you created such a wonderful work of art! 😀 I think it’s so fantastic, & I love how it sits with that unerskirt! Fantastic.

Leave a Reply

