Hall Decoration and Upcycled Shoe Cabinet

Si is now away for a few days with work, like last year I have decided to take the opportunity to do some decoration. Last year I did the bedroom, bathroom and office, so today I did the hall. Here is the before shot:

20130711-212340.jpg

The first thing I decided to do was have a look at the shoe cabinet, Si broke this a few weeks back but I was reluctant to throw it out because I didn’t like this idea of it just going to the dump. The broken bit is the front section.

20130711-213403.jpg

The first thing I did was remove the front and the fittings fully, this was with the idea of having the bottom section as open storage. I then primed the wood ready for painting it:

20130711-213542.jpg

I used just some regular primer and then some paint that was specially for painting furniture:

20130711-213628.jpg

Once the primer was dry I painted the cabinet:

20130711-213653.jpg

Before finally adding on new handles:

20130711-213717.jpg

Here is the Upcycled shoe cabinet:

20130711-213741.jpg

I then painted the hall. We have had this yellow paint for ages, we choose yellow because the hall has no windows. I also hung a poster, Si admired this poster for ages in our local Cafe Rouge so I brought him a mini version. Here is the finished hall with the shoe cabinet back in:

20130711-213929.jpg

I am so pleased with the results and especially that it has taken only about six hours to do the lot. The shoe cabinet looks like a completely different bit of furniture and has been saved from the dump, hopefully Si will like it when he gets home next week.

6 thoughts on “Hall Decoration and Upcycled Shoe Cabinet

    • Thank you. The yellow was looking great this morning when I woke up, it was a bit of a surprise when I went through. The poster was Si’s choice, it looks perfect there.

  1. It looks fab – I used a similar colour scheme years ago in a bathroom with a really small window, it never failed to cheer me up 🙂

  2. Pingback: Decopatch organisation and a Gift | sewmuchchoice

Leave a Reply

