A Festival Outfit

This Sunday I went to the Lovebox festival at Victoria park. On Saturday I thought I would make a skirt to wear and once I started a skirt I also thought…um I’d quite like to make a top. I really set Saturday up as a day of speed sewing.

Here is the outfit that I made:

20130723-124317.jpg

Firstly I made the skirt. It is the Miette by Tilly and The Buttons, my parents brought me this pattern for my birthday (thanks mum and dad) and as soon as I got it I was itching to make it. I settled on making the one with the pockets, thinking deep pockets for a festival would be prefect. I am particuarly happy with my top stitching on the pockets:

20130723-124506.jpg

I originally wanted to bind my seams, I haven’t ever done bound seams before and I thought the wrap skirt would be the ideal first go…however the denim I used was quite heavy and I didn’t want to add any bulk to the seams so I finished them off with the zigzag stitch and the cut the fabric close:

20130723-124650.jpg

The skirt was surprisingly quick to make and Tilly instructions are genius, I love the tick boxes that kept me on track throughout the process. I am already planning another make, probably without the pockets this time and in a lighter fabric so I can have a go at those bound seams.

I then set about making myself a top. I chose this lovely fabric I had in my stash:

20130723-125029.jpg

I thought it would make the ideal summer top being quite light and airy. I selected the Laurel Colette pattern, version 4 and set about cutting out my fabric. I cut the sleeves to take advantage of the scalloped edge on the fabric:

20130723-125207.jpg

I then sew the top together but used French seams because the fabric is ever so slightly see through so I wanted a nice neat edge:

20130723-125315.jpg

I absolutely love this top and the fact that is sew together in about 90 minutes is a great bonus, I think Laurel and I will have a long relationship. I particularly love the back shaping:

20130723-125448.jpg

It gives it a nice feminine feel, there will certainly be more Laurels made soon.

Overall I couldn’t be happier with my festival outfit, it was perfect for the day. The denim skirt coped well with sitting on the floor, and the top was very light and girly. I was happy with the fact it had sleeves, no sun burn here but the light fabric kept me lovely and cool…big thumbs up for these makes!

6 thoughts on “A Festival Outfit

Leave a Reply

