Jean-ius Trousers – Sewing Together

Way back in June I blogged about making some trousers for Si. I have been following the Jean-ius class on craftsy with the teacher Kenneth D King….the man really is a jean-ius, it is unbelievable how much I have learnt from the class.

Today I managed to get up to adding the waist band, I then cracked because I just couldn’t bear dealing with the fabric (which is pretty heavy) in the gorgeous temperatures we are having in the UK.

Here are a few pictures of the trousers so far, starting with the back:

20130801-181259.jpg

I am deliriously happy with my top stitching, I feel it really adds something and using the two threads as pointed out in the class makes such a difference to the overall effect. Here is the front:

20130801-181444.jpg

The fly was super tricky, it honestly took me four attempts to put the thing in! I obviously haven’t finished off the waistband, that will be my next job. And here is a shot of the inside:

20130801-181633.jpg

I haven’t currently got an overlocker but using the zigzag stitch doesn’t detract from the overall effect. These trousers have been the most challenging thing I have ever made, however I am so pleased with myself, the craftsy class is perfect for going through things step by step. I have always shied away from making trousers due to a hideous experience making some as a very naive fifteen year old (basically I wanted a pair of sequin flares -I kid you not!- and didn’t believe my measurements so randomly added on five inches to my waist) however this has completely helped me overcome that fear and once Si’s trousers are finished I’m going to give a go at making some for myself.

Leave a Reply

