New Toy Renfrew

After my sewing disasters I decided that I would get back on the bandwagon by treating myself to a new toy:

20130919-132517.jpg

An overlocker!!! I have been thinking about getting one for ages (in fact my mum asked if I would like one for my 30th and I opted for pans instead!) but decided to finally get one last week. I knew that I couldn’t afford to get a brand new one so had a look on eBay, watched loads and then I won the Janome a few days ago. I was very excited when it arrived though the door and couldn’t wait to get my hands on in.

I opted for the Sewaholic Renfrew. I have had this pattern for ages and have no idea why I didn’t get around to using it. Anyway for the fabric I used rest of the flamingo left over from my skater dress . I thought it would be good to try using leftovers because I have never used an overlocker before and if it all went hideously wrong at least I hadn’t ruined a whole load of fabric.

When it came to cutting out it was very clear that I didn’t have anywhere near enough so I also used a bit of light blue knit fabric from my stash. Here is the finished pattern:

20130919-133204.jpg

As you can see I halved the front to use the flamingo at the top and the blue at the bottom, the back is all blue. I then used the flamingo for the waistband and cuffs to bring the whole top together.

The other change I made to the pattern is that I shorted the body by an inch, in all honesty now that I have put it on I wish I had taken off another inch. I made the round neck version with the three quarter sleeves, I love three quarter length sleeves, I like the idea of long ones but spend the whole time pushing them up my arms.

Once I had figured out how to thread up the overlocker the whole make was very quick, probably about 90mins including cutting out. I love the inside finish that the overlocker gives and I am looking forward to using it again in the future. I am also particuarly happy with my seams and how the match up:

20130919-133621.jpg

The top is super comfy, great for relaxing weekends. I already plan on making another one in some other fabric I have in my stash.

20130919-133738.jpg

4 thoughts on “New Toy Renfrew

Leave a Reply

